back up software

Status
Not open for further replies.

MargieGJ

Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I'm new to LR. I'm sure this has been addressed in the past, but I can't find more than a casual mention of back up software. I've copied all my photos to a large external hard drive as I've created my main catalog and need to decide on a back up plan. I think I'd like to use a cloud storage plan and I'm not opposed to paying a modest fee. I've looked at a number of them, but the choices are overwhelming.

I use an iMac and a MacBook Pro, along with an iPad and iPhone. My plan is to continue to use iCloud for photos that I want to share to all my devices, but will use a separate plan to back up the external hard drive. Ideally, I'd like to use OneDrive, because I have a ton of storage space but have been told that drag and drop is the only way to do that...obviously not practical with 1000s of photos.

What plans do you like for backing up photos?

Hello, I use CrashPlan Unlimited and Amazon Drive Unlimited for backing up all of my data that are already backed up in my Synology NAS. Note that there is no need for a PC to run the backup software, it can run inside the NAS. The software is called Hyper Backup and it can compress the data as well as encrypt before sending. Last but not least it makes versioning, a very useful feature

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk

I'm new to LR. I'm sure this has been addressed in the past, but I can't find more than a casual mention of back up software. I've copied all my photos to a large external hard drive as I've created my main catalog and need to decide on a back up plan. I think I'd like to use a cloud storage plan and I'm not opposed to paying a modest fee. I've looked at a number of them, but the choices are overwhelming.