1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

Lightroom 6 compatibility with Photoshop CS3

Discussion in 'Lightroom Installation & Performance' started by CMFox, Mar 20, 2017.

  1. CMFox

    CMFox New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    1.x
    Lightroom License:
    Trial only
    I am new to Lightroom, I don't actually have a copy yet. I'm trying to figure out which to buy. I don't want to upgrade to the Creative Cloud. I'm happy with old stand alone software.

    Please excuse ignorance and if this is not the place to ask my question.

    I have a new iMac running Sierra. I have an old Photoshop CS3 that does whatever I want. I also have Aperture which is no longer a viable software. So I need to update to a new photo management program.
    I want Lightroom. Is Lightroom 6 (stand alone) going to work with my Photoshop CS3. I am a beginner to intermediate Photoshop user.

    Thanks.
     
  2. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    12,682
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.10.1 / CC 2015.10.1
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Welcome to the forum.
    LR6 is the standalone version that you want. You can purchase it at this link: Software & Services
    CS3 will work with LR6 however you will need to recognize that both use an Adobe Camera Raw component. The version with your CS3 is ACR 4.6 the current version that is built into LR is 9.9. Most of what you want to do in Photoshop can be handled in LR without needing to use Photoshop anyway. For processes using layers and a few other functions, you will still need PSv10. When that happens, instead of being able to send the RAW file with LR/ACR adjustment instructions, you will need to send a fully rendered TIFF or PSD. Only the latest version of PSCC can interpret the ACR adjustment instructions supplied by LR6.9. This is not a big deals to render the TIFF/PSD because when you return to LR with the finished product out of Photoshop it will be the same TIFF/PSD with the PS modifications.
     
  3. JohanElzenga

    JohanElzenga Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    4,557
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.10 / CC 2015.10
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    So just remember this. When you send a file from Lightrrom to Photoshop, you will get a warning about Camera Raw, with three choices: Render in Lightroom, Open Anyway, or Cancel. Choose 'Render in Lightroom'.
     

Share This Page