1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

LR mobile lens correction ruining my raw files.

Discussion in 'Lightroom Mobile & Sync' started by dave_bass5, Mar 17, 2017.

  1. dave_bass5

    dave_bass5 New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    London, England
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 8 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    5.2
    Ive recently got a Canon 5Dmkiv and have been noticing my raw files changing quite drastically once they are imported in to LRM on my iPad pro. They get brighter and look a bit more washed out.
    Ive whittled this down to the lens correction routine. Turning this off causes the images to remain as they were when first imported.

    Is this a bug, working as intended or maybe just not supported?

    Dave.
     
  2. Jim Wilde

    Jim Wilde Lightroom Guru Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9,823
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.9 / CC 2015.9
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    What happens if you import directly into Lightroom and apply lens corrections there? "Getting brighter" is often the result of the vignette correction, which in turn will depend upon the lens and lens profile being used.

    Does this happen all the time, even with different lenses? Or is it one lens in particular?
     
  3. dave_bass5

    dave_bass5 New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    London, England
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 8 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    5.2
    You cant import directly to LR on IOS devices.

    Yes, any lenses i use. The colour also seem to get weaker as well. I understand that LRM is using Adobe standard as its camera profile, but i dont get the same results with LR on my PC.
     
  4. JohanElzenga

    JohanElzenga Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    4,557
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.10 / CC 2015.10
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I think Jim meant directly into Lightroom on your PC. 'Adobe Standard' is a camera profile, not a lens profile. So if you import the images on your PC, do you apply a lens corrections profile automatically?
     
  5. dave_bass5

    dave_bass5 New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    London, England
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 8 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    5.2
    LR mobile wont run on a PC so im not sure why its relevant.

    For what its worth i have no issues with the PC version. I dont use it much. My images are imported directly to LRM from the IOS photo app.
     
  6. JohanElzenga

    JohanElzenga Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    4,557
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.10 / CC 2015.10
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    It's relevant to compare, and to check what happens.
     
  7. Jim Wilde

    Jim Wilde Lightroom Guru Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9,823
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Advanced
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.11.x El Capitan
    Lightroom Version:
    6.9 / CC 2015.9
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    The point is that you should not be seeing drastically differing results when applying lens corrections to the same image in LRm and LRD. If you are seeing such different results, then it tends to suggest that there might be a problem with the lens profiles in LRm. Could you share "before and after" screenshots from your iPad so that we can see the problem?
     
  8. dave_bass5

    dave_bass5 New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    London, England
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 8 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    5.2
    LOl, thats why i started this thread. I know its not right.


    I dont think we are getting anywhere here, i seem to keep repeating myself, i thought my first post was clear that it had nothing to do with LR desktop and that it wasn't right, so ill file a report with Adobe and hope they can look in to it.

    Thanks anyway. Feel free to close the thread.
     
  9. JohanElzenga

    JohanElzenga Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    4,557
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.10 / CC 2015.10
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I think you're missing the point. This may or may not be as intended. Lens profiles do change the brightness of the image if they correct for vignetting. The only way to see if it works as intended is to compare what happens in LrM with what happens if you do the same thing in LrD. But as you clearly don't want to do that, we should indeed consider this thread closed. Good luck with your report to Adobe.
     
  10. dave_bass5

    dave_bass5 New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    London, England
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 8 64-bit
    Lightroom Version:
    5.2
    Well ive already said i have no issues with LRD. As a long time user of both LRD and LRM i have not seen this happen until i got my 5Dmkiv, and ONLY on LRM.

    Thus, im asking if this camera might not be fully supported yet, or if it is why is this happening.

    Sorry i know you want to help but it seems i have to keep going over the same points and not getting any further. We are up to 10 posts and all the talk has been about LRD. Posting screen shots will just show a difference. As the lens correction is only one button there is nothing that can be tweaked or adjusted, other than on or off.

    I appreciate no one has the answer so yes, ill file it with Adobe and continue to keep the correction off for this camera until i see an improvement,.
     
  11. Victoria Bampton

    Victoria Bampton Lightroom Queen / Owner Staff Member Administrator Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19,238
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.10 / CC 2015.10
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    When you file the bug Dave, can you include lens profiles on/off screenshots for the same photo on both LRD and LRM. That way it'll be immediately clear if it's a bug in LRM - and things that are clearcut bugs get more attention. Thanks!
     
  12. Fred Stephenson

    Fred Stephenson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Beginner
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.8 / CC 2015.8
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Why would someone wan't mobile on your PC. Lightroom works ok but slow as far as syncing goes.
     
  13. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    12,682
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.10.1 / CC 2015.10.1
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    One of my mobile devices is a Laptop. While LR runs fine on it, I don't have access to LR Mobile which only sync's to my Master catalog on iMac. Having LR Mobile on my laptop would extend my workflow greatly.
     

Share This Page