1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice

re-visiting "over write setting" or "import setting from disc"

Discussion in 'Managing your Photos & Video' started by Ian.B, Apr 21, 2017.

  1. Ian.B

    Ian.B Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    856
    Location:
    Mildura, NW Victoria, Australia
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    5.7
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    Question on behalf of others too I'm sure
    Image1.jpg

    one of those things I don't really understand; but along the way I have been told/worked out/learnt/guessed to click "over write setting" . Now I'm using ON1 more I'm getting more files with the little square
    Am I right to click "over write setting" every time?
    Should or do I really need to do it or does it make little difference either way ?

    now keeping simple please :rolleyes: . I don't really care too much about the reasons why

    >> :) Other similar questions are more than welcome -- don't be shy
     
  2. JohanElzenga

    JohanElzenga Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    4,790
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.12 / CC 2015.12
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    It depends on what On1 is doing. Apparently On1 writes to the metadata, that is why you get this message. If you added something in On1 you want to keep in Lightroom (and is understood by Lightroom, such as a new keyword or a change in star rating), then you should use 'Import Settings from Disk'. If not, you can use 'Overwrite Settings'. Or you can ignore it...
     
  3. Ian.B

    Ian.B Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    856
    Location:
    Mildura, NW Victoria, Australia
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    5.7
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    Thanks Johan; that makes sense and why those keywords didn't come into LR
    that explained it easier than anything I have read -- I how it works now; thanks for that
     
  4. clee01l

    clee01l Lightroom Guru Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    12,811
    Location:
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Mac 10.12.x Sierra
    Lightroom Version:
    6.10.1 / CC 2015.10.1
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    I vote for number 3. My original images don't need to be used by any outside applications nor do they need to contain any information not already in the LR catalog file. Should some third party app "touch" my master original files, then LR will produce this message. Do I care what is in the metadata of these master image copies after I have imported all of the source metadata into LR? NO, because all derivatives images created by LR will use only the metadata stored in LR.
     
  5. Ferguson

    Ferguson Linwood Ferguson Staff Member Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142
    Location:
    Cape Coral, FL
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.10 / CC 2015.10
    Lightroom License:
    CC Subscription
    Incidentally there are some real dangers in doing the import which may not be obvious, depending on your setting in Lightroom for automatically updating XMP files.

    If you do as most (I think it's the default), and turn OFF the option to write to XMP files, then XMP files sitting on disk can be old. They might come from an initial ingestion, you writing metadata manually, a period when you had it turned on, some other program entirely like Photoshop. But the key is they are NOT up to date with what Lightroom has as info.

    Programs accessing existing side car files to modify them are supposed to merge their own data with what is there. So if On1 modifies the file already there, it will leave that old data present.

    If you now READ the data in Lightroom, you also make active the old data.

    This problem does not exist, generally, if LR is set to always write XMP files (I am not suggesting that is how you should set it, that is just a comment). But with the default setting, ANY time you do a READ metadata, you risk reloading something old that you have already changed. This is the disconnect from LR not keeping it updated, and something else merging in changes.

    If you ARE going to have another program that is ALSO going to change metadata and you ARE going to IMPORT (not overwrite), I recommend writing metadata from LR before calling that other program, either with the automatic setting or manually. People do this with Photo Mechanic, for example, when they want to use its metadata tools to modify images already in Lightroom. Write XMP, modify with Photo Mechanic as you like, then READ XMP.

    But personally I agree with Cletus -- the real solution is don't let anything else's changes pollute what Lightroom has.
     
  6. Ian.B

    Ian.B Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    856
    Location:
    Mildura, NW Victoria, Australia
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    5.7
    Lightroom License:
    Perpetual (Standalone)
    thanks for the information Cletus and Linwood. It all comes back the "do most filing thing INSIDE Lightroom" rule --- should be a law haha
     

Share This Page